Diabetes

Successfully fighting diabetes – new therapies, effective prevention

Joint for new approaches in diabetes therapy

Helmholtz Zentrum München is breaking new ground in diabetes research. The integrative research approach of the Helmholtz Diabetes Center unites different scientific disciplines such as genetics, epidemiology, immunology, stem cell research, systems biology and many other subdisciplines, enabling for the first time a comprehensive understanding of the complex disease. This will ultimately lead to completely novel approaches to therapy, diagnosis and prevention. The center provides cutting-edge technology platforms, which are available to the institutes and cooperation partners as scientific-technical infrastructure. Through intensive cooperation with clinical partners, we ensure that scientific insights are quickly transferred into medical practice to benefit patients.

Institute for Diabetes and Cancer

Director: Prof. Dr. Stephan Herzig


The Institute for Diabetes and Cancer (IDC) is a member of the Helmholtz Diabetes Center (HDC) at the Helmholtz Center Munich and also a partner within the Joint Heidelberg-IDC Translational Diabetes Program. The Institute for Diabetes and Cancer is tightly integrated into the German Center for Diabetes Research (DZD) and the Collaborative Research Center SFB 1118 “Reactive metabolites and diabetic complications” at the University Medicine Heidelberg, Germany.

The IDC is investigating the molecular basis of severe metabolic disorders, including the Metabolic Syndrome and Type 2 Diabetes, and their roles in tumor initiation and progression.

To the IDC website

Institute of Diabetes Research (IDF)

Director: Prof. Dr. Anette-Gabriele Ziegler

Chair of Diabetes and Gestational Diabetes at Technische Universität München

The Institute of Diabetes Research (IDF) researches the pathogenesis and prevention of type 1 diabetes and gestational diabetes. To this end, it investigates the molecular mechanisms leading to the development of the disease, in particular the interaction of environment, genes and immune system. The aim of this research is to identify markers for early diagnosis and to develop treatments for the prevention and cure of diabetes. IDF is a part of the Helmholtz Diabetes Center (HDC).

To the IDF website
To the HDC website

Institute for Diabetes Research and Metabolic Diseases (IDM)

Director: Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans Ulrich Häring

Medical director of Medical Clinic IV at the University Hospital Tübingen

The primary research objective of the Institute of Diabetes Research and Metabolic Diseases (IDM) of Helmholtz Zentrum München at the University of Tübingen is the individualized prediction of diabetes risk, diabetes prevention and the personalized treatment of diabetes. The main research focus is on gene-environment interaction in type 2 diabetes. IDM is a part of the Helmholtz Diabetes Center (HDC).

Zur Website des IDM
To the HDC website

Institute of Diabetes and Obesity (IDO)

Director: Prof. Dr. Matthias Tschöp

Chair of Diabetes Research / Insulin Resistance at Technische Universität München

The Institute of Diabetes and Obesity (IDO) studies the metabolic syndrome by means of systems biological and translational approaches, using cell-based systems, genetically modified mouse models and clinical intervention studies. The aim of this research is to discover new signaling pathways in order to develop innovative interdisciplinary approaches for the personalized prevention and treatment of obesity, diabetes and concomitant diseases. IDO is a part of the Helmholtz Diabetes Center (HDC).

To the IDO website
To the HDC website

- Research Unit NeuroBiology of Diabetes (NBD)

Head: Dr. Paul Pfluger


The Research Unit NeuroBiology of Diabetes is associated with the IDO, and aims to unravel the role of the central nervous system in the etiology of metabolic disease. Focus is directed towards understanding the impact of hypothalamic inflammation for the development of obesity and diabetes type 2. The NBD further assesses the role of epigenetic signaling as gene-environment interface for our adaptive metabolic control. Last, the NBD aims to gain insight into the underpinnings of leptin resistance, yoyo dieting, and our failure to stay lean.

To the NBD website
To the IDO website

Diabetes- and Regeneration Research (IDR)

Director: Prof. Dr. Heiko Lickert

Chair of Diabetes Research / Beta Cell Biology at Technische Universität München

The Institute of Diabetes and Regeneration Research (IDR) researches the biology and regeneration of the pancreas, especially the insulin-producing beta cells. The primary aim is to enable regenerative therapy approaches for the treatment of diabetes mellitus and thus to provide alternatives to traditional therapy approaches. The IDR seks to discover novel drugs that enhance beta cell differentiation and function and is working towards a beta cell replacement therapy. IDR is a part of the Helmholtz Diabetes Center (HDC).

To the IDR website
To the HDC website

Institute of Experimental Genetics (IEG)

Director: Prof. Dr. Martin Hrabě de Angelis

Chair of Experimental Genetics at Technische Universität München

The aim of the Institute of Experimental Genetics (IEG) is to further the basic understanding of mechanisms that underlie the etiology of human diseases, in particular for diabetes and other metabolic diseases as well as bone/cartilage disorders. Experimental set-ups are centered on the mouse as pre-clinical model organism. Besides studying the effects of genotypes, the IEG is researching the effects of environmental factors on the etiology of diseases. The German Mouse Clinic (GMC) researches these aspects at a systemic level. IEG is a part of the Helmholtz Diabetes Center (HDC). The IEG includes the Genome Analysis Center (GAC).

To the IEG website
To the GAC website
To the HDC website

Research Unit Genome Analysis Center (GAC)

Head: Prof. Dr. Jerzy Adamski


The Genome Analysis Center (GAC) is part of the Institute of Experimental Genetics (IEG). It aims to provide scientists with a state-of-the-art infrastructure for gene analyses on a large scale and for the application of OMICS technologies.  

To the GAC website
To the IEG website

Institute of Functional Epigenetics (IFE)

Director: Prof. Dr. Robert Schneider


The Institute of Functional Epigenetics (IFE) is interested in how genes are packaged within the nucleus of a cell. The focus is on the so-called "histone proteins" on which the DNA strands are wound and that can determine whether a gene can be read or not. In addition, we are examining the connections between common diseases and distortions in DNA packing.

To the IFE website
To the HDC website

- Research Unit Molecular Epigenetics (MEG)

Head: Prof. Dr. Dirk Eick 


The Research Unit Molecular Epigenetics (MEG) researches basic epigenetic mechanisms of gene regulation, thus creating the basis for a better understanding of the role of epigenetics in the etiology of diseases. 

To the MEG website

Institute of Pancreatic Islet Research, Paul-Langerhans-Institut Dresden (IPI)

Director: Prof. Dr. Michele Solimena


The Institute for Pancreatic Islet Researcht focus on basic and clinical research on pancreatic beta cells, which are responsible for production and secretion of insulin.

Diabetes

Diabetes erfolgreich bekämpfen – neue Therapien, wirksame Prävention

Gemeinsam für neue Ansätze in der Diabetes-Therapie

Das Helmholtz Zentrum München beschreitet neue Wege in der Diabetesforschung: Der integrative Forschungsansatz des Helmholtz Diabetes Centers kombiniert verschiedene wissenschaftliche Disziplinen wie Genetik, Epidemiologie, Immunologie, Stammzellforschung, Systembiologie und viele weitere Teilgebiete. Dadurch wird erstmalig ein umfassendes Verständnis der komplexen Erkrankung möglich, was letztlich zu völlig neuartigen Ansätzen für Therapie, Diagnose und Prävention führen wird. Zentrale Technologieplattformen auf höchstem Niveau stehen den Instituten und Kooperationspartnern als wissenschaftlich-technische Infrastruktur zur Verfügung. Durch intensive Zusammenarbeit mit klinischen Partnern erreicht das Zentrum, dass die wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse schnell in die medizinische Praxis einfließen und den Patienten zugutekommen.

Institut für Diabetes und Krebs (IDC)

Direktor: Prof. Dr. Stephan Herzig


Das Institut für Diabetes und Krebs (IDC) ist Mitglied des Helmholtz Diabetes Zentrums (HDC) am Helmholtz Zentrum München und Partner im gemeinsamen Heidelberg-IDC Translationalen Diabetes-Programm. Das Institut für Diabetes und Krebs ist eng in das Deutsche Zentrum für Diabetesforschung (DZD) und in den Sonderforschungsbereich (SFB) "Reaktive Metaboliten und Diabetische Komplikationen" an der Medizinischen Universität Heidelberg integriert.

Das IDC erforscht die molekularen Grundlagen schwerer metabolischer Erkrankungen, wie dem Metabolischen Syndrom und Typ 2 Diabetes, und deren Bedeutung für die Tumorentstehung und -progression.

Zur Webseite des IDC

Institut für Diabetesforschung (IDF)

Direktorin: Prof. Dr. Anette-Gabriele Ziegler

Lehrstuhl Diabetes und Gestationsdiabetes an der Technischen Universität München

Das Institut für Diabetesforschung (IDF) befasst sich mit der Pathogenese und Prävention von Typ-1-Diabetes und Gestationsdiabetes. Dazu untersucht es die molekularen Mechanismen der Krankheitsentstehung, insbesondere das Zusammenspiel von Umwelt, Genen und Immunsystem. Ziel ist die Identifizierung von Markern zur frühen Diagnose und die Entwicklung von Therapien zur Prävention und Heilung von Diabetes. Das IDF ist Teil des Helmholtz Diabetes Center (HDC).

Zur Website des IDF
Zur Website des HDC

Institut für Diabetesforschung und Metabolische Erkrankungen (IDM)

Direktor: Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans Ulrich Häring

Ärztlicher Direktor der Inneren Klinik IV des Universitätsklinikums Tübingen

Primäre Forschungsziele des Instituts für Diabetesforschung und Metabolische Erkrankungen (IDM) des Helmholtz Zentrums München an der Universität Tübingen sind die individualisierte Vorhersage des Diabetesrisikos, die Diabetesprävention und die personalisierte Diabetestherapie. Dabei stehen Untersuchungen zur Gen-Umwelt-Interaktion bei Typ-2-Diabetes im Vordergrund. Das IDM ist Teil des Helmholtz Diabetes Center (HDC).


Zur Website des IDM
Zur Website des HDC

Institut für Diabetes und Adipositas (IDO)

Direktor: Prof. Dr. Matthias Tschöp

Lehrstuhl für Diabetesforschung/ Insulinresistenz der Technischen Universität München

Das Institut für Diabetes und Adipositas (IDO) erforscht die Erkrankungen des Metabolischen Syndroms mit systembiologischen und translationalen Ansätzen auf der Basis von zellulären Systemen, genetisch modifizierten Mausmodellen und klinischen Interventionsstudien. Ziel ist die Entdeckung neuer Signalwege, um interdisziplinär innovative Therapieansätze zur personalisierten Prävention und Behandlung von Adipositas, Diabetes und deren Begleiterkrankungen zu entwickeln. Das IDO ist Teil des Helmholtz Diabetes Center (HDC).


Zur Website des IDO
Zur Website des HDC

- Abteilung NeuroBiologie des Diabetes (NBD)

Leitung: Dr. Paul Pfluger


Die Abteilung Neurobiologie des Diabetes ist assoziiert mit dem Institut für Diabetes und Adopositas und beforscht die Rolle unseres zentralen Nervensystems in der Entstehung von metabolischen Erkrankungen. Neben der Erforschung von hypothalamischen Entzündungsreaktionen als Ursache für Adipositas und Diabetes Typ 2 untersucht das NBD die Rolle von epigenetischen Signalwegen in der adaptiven Kontrolle unseres Stoffwechsels. Am NBD werden zudem die molekularen Ursachen für die Entstehung der Leptin Resistenz untersucht mit dem Ziel, neue Wege gegen den berüchtigten Jojo-Effekt zu finden und dauerhaften Gewichtsverlust zu ermöglichen.

Zur Webseite der NBD
Zur Website des IDO

Institut für Diabetes- und Regenerationsforschung (IDR)

Direktor: Prof. Dr. Heiko Lickert

Lehrstuhl für Diabetesforschung/ Betazell-Biologie der Technischen Universität München

Das Institut für Diabetes- und Regenerationsforschung (IDR) untersucht die Entwicklung und Regeneration des Pankreas, insbesondere die der Insulin-produzierenden Betazellen. Vorrangiges Ziel ist es, regenerative Therapieansätze zur Behandlung von Diabetes mellitus zu ermöglichen und damit komplementäre Alternativen zu klassischen Therapieansätzen zu bieten. Unter anderem forscht IDR nach Wirkstoffen, um die Betazell-Differenzierung und -Funktion zu verbessern und arbeitet an einer Betazell-Ersatztherapie. Das IDR ist Teil des Helmholtz Diabetes Center (HDC).

Zur Website des IDR
Zur Website des HDC

Institut für Experimentelle Genetik (IEG)

Direktor: Prof. Dr. Martin Hrabě de Angelis

Lehrstuhl für Experimentelle Genetik der Technischen Universität München

Ziel des Instituts für Experimentelle Genetik (IEG) ist, die Entstehungsmechanismen humaner Erkrankungen zu verstehen, insbesondere bei Diabetes und anderen Stoffwechselerkrankungen sowie Erkrankungen in Knochen und Knorpel. Experimentell konzentriert sich das Institut auf die Maus als präklinisches Tiermodell. Neben Genotypen untersucht das IEG die Auswirkungen von Umweltfaktoren bei der Krankheitsentstehung. Die German Mouse Clinic (GMC) untersucht diese Aspekte auf systemischer Ebene. Das IEG ist Teil des Helmholtz Diabetes Center (HDC). Zum IEG gehört das Genomanalysezentrum (GAC)

Zur Website des IEG
Zur Website des GAC
Zur Website des HDC

- Abt. Genomanalysezentrum (GAC)

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Jerzy Adamski


Das Genomanalysezentrum (GAC) ist Teil des Instituts für Experimentelle Genetik (IEG). Ziel ist es, Wissenschaftlern eine zeitgemäße Infrastruktur für Genanalysen in großem Maßstab und für die Anwendung der OMICS-Technologien zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Zur Website des GAC
Zur Website des IEG

Institut für Funktionale Epigenetik (IFE)

Direktor: Prof. Dr. Robert Schneider


Das Institut für Funktionale Epigenetik (IFE) untersucht, wie Gene im Zellkern verpackt werden. Der Fokus auf so genannten "Histon-Proteinen", die bestimmen können, ob ein Gen abgelesen werden kann oder nicht. Wissenschaftler befassen sich mit Zusammenhängen zwischen Volkskrankheiten und Anomalien der DNA-Verpackung. 

Zur Website des IFE
Zur Website des HDC

- Abteilung Molekulare Epigenetik (MEG)

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Dirk Eick


Die Abteilung für Molekulare Epigenetik (MEG) erforscht grundlegende epigenetische Regulationsmechanismen und schafft damit die Voraussetzung dafür, den Beitrag der Epigenetik an der Entwicklung von Krankheiten besser verstehen zu können.

Zur Website der MEG

Institut für die Erforschung pankreatischer Inselzellen, Paul-Langerhans-Institut Dresden (IPI)

Direktor: Prof. Dr. Michele Solimena

Das Institut für die Erforschung Pankreatischer Inselzellen erforscht die Krankheitsursachen des Diabetes mellitus Typ 1 und Typ 2. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf den Mechanismen, die die Zerstörung und/oder die Funktionseinschränkung der Beta-Zellen der Bauchspeicheldrüse bedingt.