Helmholtz Zentrum München is a member of the Helmholtz Association. The Center consists of scientific institutes and research units.  Administrative units and  committees ensure success.

The Commitees at the Helmholtz Zentrum München:

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board oversees the lawfulness, appropriateness and economic efficiency of the management. It decides on general research objectives, important matters of research policy and financial matters of Helmholtz Zentrum München, and lays down the basic principles for evaluating performance. The Supervisory Board is composed of 12 honorary members. Six of these are appointed by the partners (Free State of Bavaria and Federal Republic of Germany). Three members are selected by the Assembly of Partners from the scientific and technical staff of Helmholtz Zentrum Munich. The Assembly of Partners also appoints the remaining three members from the fields of science and economics.

  • Chairperson: MinDir’in Bärbel Brumme-Bothe
  • Deputy Chairperson: MDirig. Dr. Manfred Wolter

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the Supervisory Board and the Board of Directors. It is also responsible for evaluating the work of Helmholtz Zentrum München. The Scientific Advisory Board was constituted in 1984 with the purpose of carrying on an intensive discussion about the scientific programs and projects of Helmholtz Zentrum München and with implementing an efficient result evaluation. At present, 10 external scientists belong to the Scientific Advisory Board.

  • Chairperson: N.N.

Works Council

The Works Council is the elected representative body of the Helmholtz Zentrum München employees and represents their interests vis-à-vis the Board of Directors.

Helmholtz Zentrum München -
Deutsches Forschungszentrum für
Gesundheit und Umwelt
Works Council
Ingolstädter Landstraße 1
85764 Neuherberg

Tel. +49 89 3187-2353
Fax. +49 89 3187-3357

We use cookies to improve your experience on our Website. We need cookies to continuously improve the services, to enable certain features and when embedding services or content of third parties, such as video player. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. We use different types of cookies. You can personalize your cookie settings here:

Only cookies permitted that are required for the basic functionality of our websites.
Permit cookies that help us to analyse the page views and user behavior on our websites. We only use this information for improving our services.
Permit embedded content and cookies from third party providers. This setting enables the full use of our web services (e.g. displaying videos).
Please find more information in our privacy statement.

There you may also change your settings later.